Copyright 2021.
All Rights Reserved.


Edward W. Edwards
55th, 56th, 58th & 60th
Governor of Louisiana

1st & 2nd Term Preceded by John J. McKeithen
Governor by Election (1st and 2nd terms)
Served from May 9, 1972
Served to March 10, 1980
Left Office by 2nd Term Ended (cannot serve 3rd consecutive term)
Succeeded by David C. Treen
3rd Term Preceded by David C. Treen
Governor by Election
Served from March 12, 1984
Served to March 14, 1988
Left Office by Withdrew from election
Succeeded by Charles E. Roemer
4th Term Preceded by Charles E. Roemer
Governor by Election
Served from January 13, 1992
Served to January 8, 1996
Left Office by Did not seek reelection
Succeeded by Murphy J. "Mike" Foster
Born August 7, 1927
Avoyelles Parish, La.
Died July 12, 2021
Gonzales, La.
Age 93
Party Democrat
Education Louisiana State Univesity (BA) (JD)
Profession Farmer, Construction, Politician
Military Service US Navy 1945-1946
Home at Death Gonzales, La
Spouses Elaine Schwartzenburg
Candace Picou
Trina Grimes Scott
Children 5
Burial Resthaven Gardens of Memory

1972 - 1980
1984 - 1988
1992 - 1996

Edwin Washington Edwards, 55th, 56th, 58th & 60th governor of Louisiana, died in 2021.  He was buried at Resthaven Memorial Gardens in Baton Rouge, La.

After a few months he was disinterred, cremated and returned to his wife Trina. She would like for him to rest permanently on the State Capitol grounds near Gov. Huey Long.

Other governors that no longer have a memorial are Gov. Isaac Johnson and Gov. Henry Johnson. Both gravesites and been lost.

Edwin is the son of Clarence Edwards and Agnes Brouillette. He was born in Avoyelles Parish near Marksville, La.

He was in the U. S. Navy Airforce in 1945 and 1946. He attained his JD from LSU and began a law practice in Crowley, La about 1949.

He became interested in politics and ran for Crowley City Council in 1954. He remained on the city council until he won an election for the State Senate in 1964. He was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1965. He served three terms until 1972.


La. Secretary of State

National Governors Association


All photos are the property of La-Cemeteries
and may
not be copied or distributed without the expresss written permission of

Copyright 2007-2021.
All Rights Reserved.